Northern Kentucky Real Estate Information

Northern Kentucky is generally understood to encompass the three counties that are closest to the Kentucky-Ohio Border. These three – Boone County, Kenton County, and Campbell County – are often joined by Gallatin County, Grant County, Pendleton County, Bracken County, Trimble County, and Mason County under broader definitions. Most of Northern Kentucky is suburbanized in form, especially thanks to the physical proximity of the city of Cincinnati, Ohio just across from the Ohio River. The three main counties of Kentucky (Boone, Kenton, and Campbell) also have their own moderately sized cities and towns in addition to master planned suburban communities. There are also numerous rural regions in Northern Kentucky, although this lifestyle is being rapidly eclipsed by the tide of development and urban growth.

Despite its diverse and widely varied demographic nature, Northern Kentucky is a remarkably convenient area. Almost all of Northern Kentucky is located within the Greater Cincinnati area, ensuring easy access to urban attractions and activities, including professional sports teams, large shopping complexes, and world class restaurants. Northern Kentucky technically has a sub-tropical climate, although the region's location at the periphery of this climate zone gives it a more diverse range of temperatures throughout the year. The entirety of Northern Kentucky has a population of approximately two hundred twenty five thousand residents, with the largest two concentrations being found in Kenton and Campbell Counties.

There are six main population centers found in the three most important counties of Northern Kentucky, with each of them offering a great place to live, work, and play. Florence is the largest city in Boone County, with a population of roughly twenty four thousand residents, while Fort Thomas and Newport are the largest communities in Campbell County, with populations of roughly seventeen thousand each. Kenton County has three major population centers, two of which are county seats. The two county seats are Independence and Covington, which have populations of approximately fifteen thousand and forty four thousand respectively. The third major community of Kenton County is Erlanger, which encompasses an area of about eight and a half square miles and roughly seventeen thousand residents.